Log in

Waller Awards reward ‘Christian Excellence’

WallerAwardFour scholarships and two namesake awards were conveyed during the annual event in salute to the "Christian Excellence" of the late Rev. Eugene Waller and his wife, Aurelia Waller.

The observance was hosted by The Missionary Society of Cummings Street Baptist Church, with Ada Westbrooks serving as president and Carrie Grant as president emeritus.

The 2010 Eugene Waller Faithfulness Award was bestowed upon deacon Fred Johnson, with the Virtuous Woman Award going to Norma L. Ford. Each is designed to spotlight an individual who exemplifies "Christian principles, personal integrity and loyalty to the customs and traditions that support the Cummings Street Baptist Church family."

The Rev. Eugene Waller served Cummings Street as pastor for over three decades and was affectionately dubbed by colleagues as the "Prince of Preachers" for his ability for storytelling to clarify a Biblical message.

The Eugene Waller Scholarship Program recipients for 2012 are:

Charles Clark, who will attend the University of Tennessee (Knoxville) this fall and major in sociology. His aspiration is to be a high school social studies teacher.

Evan Robinson, who will attend Campbellsville University this fall, wants to become a physical therapist.

Ashley T. McFerrin, a Tennessee State University student majoring in psychology and communications.

Cell Waller III, who will attend the University of the University of Tennessee (Knoxville) this fall and major in sports management.

Add comment

Security code