Log in

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/rtmmemph/public_html/templates/gk_news2/html/com_content/article/default.php on line 13

MCS – 2011 record of achievement

Memphis City Schools lists a myriad of reasons to “be encouraged and proud this year.” While President Barack Obama’s selection of BookerT. Washington High School as the winner of the national Race to the Top Commencement Challenge has become a metaphor for Memphis City Schools’ reform effort, MCS lists myriad other reasons to “be encouraged and proud this year.”

Eva Bass (left), who retired this year after 30 years with Memphis City Schools, and Dr. Bruce Walker, who retired after 27 years, hold a BTW graduation memento signed by President Barack Obama. BTW Principal Alisha Kiner (right) praised the two for their commitment to the school and its students during a retirement ceremony this week. (Photo by Tyrone P. Easley)
The list:

• Bill and Melinda Gates visited Memphis in the fall to assess the implementation of the MCS leading-edge Teacher Effectiveness Initiative (TEI) work on behalf of their Foundation.

• MCS high school graduates amassed more than $178,000,000 in college scholarship offers.

• Hollis F. Price Middle College was recognized as the National Title I Distinguished School of the Year.

• White Station Middle School earned 1st Place honors in the National Science League event (a competition of public, private, and parochial schools across the nation).

• Cordova High School was one of 16 schools in the nation to be accepted into the prestigious Manhattan Theatre Club Playwriting Project.

• Douglass K-8 School was named a 2010 Blue Ribbon School of Excellence.

• MCS Urban Debate League teams ranked third in the nation in the number of schools and students participating in the program,

• Central High’s girls basketball team and Craigmont High’s boys basketball team won state championships in their respective divisions.

• Leviticus Pointer, principal of Vance Middle School, was recognized as the Tennessee Association of Middle Schools (TAMS) Administrator of the Year.

• Tisha Stewart-White, principal of Shannon Elementary School, was recognized as an NBC National Education Champion.

• Dr. Randy McPherson, counselor at Trezevant Career and Technology Center, was recognized as the National Counselor of the Year.

• Davis Falvey, teacher at Snowden School, was recognized as the Tennessee Department of Education’s West Tennessee Teacher of the Year.

• Melissa Collins, Teacher at John P. Freeman School, was one of four teachers recognized nationally as a Presidential Award Winner for Mathematics and Science.

• Rita White, Principal of Riverwood Elementary School, was named the 2010 recipient of the National Distinguished Principal Award for TN from the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

• The newly constructed Kate Bond Middle School is on schedule for a fall 2011 opening.

• The Department of Nutrition Services was one of four top performers in the Council of Great City Schools Managing for Results report in food services and part of a four-member panel presenting and discussing management practices in food services at the Chief Operations Officers Conference in April 2011.

• MCS received the Golden Carrot Award from the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM) for healthy menus for children, one of four districts nationally.

• The MCS Office of Federal Programs and Grants earned an Exceptional Audit Rating by the Tennessee Department of Education for the seventh year in a row.

• Memphis City Schools was named one of the “Best Communities for Music Education” in America by The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM).

• The MCS Department of Safety, Security and Emergency Management was selected to receive the national 2011 Individual School Safety Award/ Exemplary School Safety Program Award by the School Safety Advocacy Council.

• The Office of Risk Management received the National 2010 Indoor Air Quality Tools for Schools IAQ Collaborative Design Challenge School District Award, as well as the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Leadership Award for Indoor Environmental Program.

• The district’s Department of Fiscal Services and Budget received the Meritorious Budget Award for the 2010-11 Annual Budget from the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO), as well as the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) of the United States and Canada.

Add comment

Security code