Log in

50 ‘new’ Men of Excellence named to TSD 2012 class

The New Tri-State Defender (TSD) found no shortage of well-deserving men to induct into its growing corps of Men of Excellence honorees. Call it a testament to the abundance of talented, committed and visionary African-American male leadership in Memphis – and the women who support them.

TSD will host its fourth annual Men of Excellence Awards Reception and Presentation on Saturday, Nov. 17 at 6:30 p.m. at The Holiday Inn University of Memphis, 3700 Central Avenue.

The annual event will celebrate and honor 50 African-American men who motivate and inspire others through their vision and leadership, exceptional achievements, and participation in community service.

 "Many thought it might be difficult to continue duplicating the phenomenal groups of honorees from our first three classes of Men of Excellence, but this year's group is equally impressive and certainly deserving," said TSD President and Publisher Bernal E. Smith II.

"I am glad that we at The New Tri-State Defender can take the lead in acknowledging their contributions to the growth and betterment of our community."

Honorees were nominated by TSD readers, family and friends and loved ones from throughout the community. They were ultimately selected based upon the following criteria: African-American male community leader, executive or business owner, proven success within his profession/industry, positive role model whose contributions encourage others and active in community service or organizational involvement.

The honorees will be profiled in a commemorative section in the TSD November 15 edition. Event photos will appear in the wrap-up edition. Sponsorships, congratulatory ads and messages as well as a limited number of event tickets are available. A table of 10 is $650.

For more information, contact the TSD office at 901-523-1818 or advertising@tri-statedefender. com.

The 2012 Men of Excellence honorees:

Charles Barnes, President, Action Chemical

Tyrone Burroughs, President and CEO, First Choice Sales & Merchandising

Donnell Cobbins, Jr., Vice President, Universal Commercial Real Estate

Al Cousins, MWBE Business Development Manager, Allen & Hoshall

Willie Curry, Photographer, The Photography Group

Roderick DeBerry, Managing Partner, Via Sys Technology

Brian Dobbins, Executive Director-West, United HealthCare Community Plan

Michael Dones, Corporate Marketing Manager, FedEx

David Doyle, Southwest Community College | E.D. of TN Small Business Development Center

Rick Farwell, Owner, Pyramind Wine & Spirits

Dennis Fisher, Director of HR, Baptist Memorial Health Care Corp.

Art Gilliam, Owner, WLOK

Leon Gray, Special Project Coordinator - Mayor's Office - Shelby County Government

Frederick Hardeman, V.P. Business Banking, Regions Bank of Memphis

Lee Harris, U of M Law Professor/Memphis City Council Member

Robert Hill, Director of Community Outreach, Shelby County Trustee's Office

Clayton Jones, Multi-Store Operations Manager, Macy's

Jessie Jones, Security Guard, Bountiful Blessings COGIC

Samuel King, Sr. V.P. - MidSouth Diversity Banking, First Tennessee Bank

Emmanuel Kpabitey, MD, Emergency Physician and Internist

Earl LeFlore, Jr., Founder, The Gentlemen and Ladies Academy

Perry Little, Director of Education, Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare

John D. Lovelace, Executive Director, Shelby County Head Start

Myron Lowery, Former Interim Mayor and City Council Chairman, Memphis City Council Member

Jerome Luke, Executive V.P. - Credit Policy & Regulation, First Tennessee Bank

Willie Martin, Agency Owner, All State Insurance

Myron Mays, On-Air Personality and Entrepreneur, "What's Happening Myron?" and Soul Classics 103.5 WRBO

Chris McNeil, On-Air Personality, Flinn Broadcasting - KXHT 107.1

William Mitchell, Crye-Leike Realtors

Keith Norman, Pastor, First Baptist Broad

Dr. Leroy Norton, Family Vision

Donnald O'Connor, Founder and Director, Watoto De Afrika

Deano Orr, Executive Director, International Paper Foundation & Global Giving Programs

Vincent Perry, Financial Advisor, Ameriprise Financial

Reginald Peyton, Broker, CRB, CRS, GRI, The Peyton Co, Inc. Realtors

Ronald Purifoy, Majority Owner, Johnson Bryce, Inc.

Ron Redwing, President/CEO, The Redwing Group

Howard Scott, Chief Medical Ofc., Methodist Hospital

Darryll Seymour, General Manager, Boscos

Jeffrey Shelton, Owner, Shelton's ProClean

Ed Stanton, Jr., General Sessions Court Clerk

Clint Story, Vice President, Citizen's Bank

John Thomas, Owner, C & T Title & Escrow

Fred Towler, Vice President of Supply Chain Operations, International Paper

Mack Tuggle, CPA Partner, Jones & Tuggle

Alton Williams, Pastor, World Overcomer's Outreach Ministries

Ron Willis, Agency Owner, State Farm Insurance

Frazer Windless, President and CEO, A1 Printing Service

James Wright, CPA


0 #4 www.Heateddogbed.Org 2014-07-08 09:30
Pretty component to content. I simply stumbled upon your blog
and in accession capital to assert that I get actually loved account your weblog posts.
Any way I'll be subscribing on your augment and
even I fulfillment you get admission to constantly quickly.
0 #3 change 2014-07-02 04:17
It is the best time to make some plans for the future
and it's time to be happy. I have read this post and if
I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.

I desire to read even more things about it!
0 #2 accommodation and 2014-04-10 11:20
When I initially commented I clicked the "Notify me when new comments are added"
checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
Is there any way you can remove me from that service?

Thank you!

My web-site; accommodation
and assimilation: http://bit.ly/1cr5R83
0 #1 Sharon Norris 2012-11-17 11:55
Congratulations David Doyle on receiving this award. You have worked very hard throughout your career and is deserving.

Add comment

Security code