Log in

2014 ACT-SO scholars build on tradition

Memphis area high school students who participated in ACT-SO (Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological, Scientific Olympics), a national program sponsored by the NAACP, are eligible for scholarship awards founded by the late Maxine A. Smith. 
The 2014 ACT-SO scholars were announced recently at a luncheon at the Community Foundation with their parents and the Smith family in attendance.
Smith dedicated her life to education and civil rights as the executive director and National Board Member of the NAACP. She collaborated with the Hyde Foundation to ensure that students who met the challenge of participating in any one of the 26 categories of the ACT-SO talent competition can receive a scholarship to encourage their educational advancement.
The staff of the Community Foundation administers the scholarship program along with a committee of Smith’s friends and church members. Applicants submitted their academic records, essays and community activities to the selection committee. 
The winners for 2014 are:
* Tarrolyn Barras is an honors graduate from Houston High School and will attend McAlister College in Minnesota.
* Phillip Bond is a graduate from of Overton High School and plans to attend Berkley College of Music in Boston, MA.
* Thomas Burton is an honor graduate from Whitehaven High School and plans to attend Tennessee State University.
* Orlando Dotson is a graduate from Germantown High School and plans to attend the University of Memphis
* Krysten Harvey is an honor graduate from White Station High School and plans to attend the University of Alabama.
* Arniecia Hinds is an honor graduate from Germantown High School and plans to attend the University of Memphis.
* April Horner is a graduate from Whitehaven High School and plans to attend Wiley College in Marshall, TX
* Eboni Johnson is an honor graduate from Middle College High School and plans to attend Rust College in Holly Springs, MS
* Wynter Scott is the salutatorian from Middle College High School and will attend Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colo.
The 36th annual Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics kicked off July 18th and runs through July 20th in Las Vegas during the 105th NAACP Annual Convention. Participants from around the country are gathered at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center for the final competitions and an Awards Ceremony on July 20th.
The awards ceremony will be hosted by actor and ACT-SO alum Bresha Webb from the television series “Love That Girl.” The ceremony will feature performances by McCLAIN and previous ACT-SO winners. Students will compete in 27 competitions in five categories: business, humanities, visual arts, performing arts, and science/STEM. The culinary portion of the competition will be judged by renowned chefs: Rock Harper, Susan Wolfla, Aaron J. Perez, and Arnym Solomon. Making the pot even sweeter, the Culinary Institute of America will award up to $60,000 in additional scholarship money for the culinary competitors this year.
The annual NAACP-sponsored competition attracts hundreds of the nation’s most gifted young people each year to compete in the areas of sciences, humanities, performing arts, visual arts, and business. ACT-SO award winners can win up to $2,000 in scholarship money. More than 260,000 young people have participated in the program since its inception.


0 #2 http://www.161999up. 2014-10-11 15:37
I know this web site provides quality depending articles or reviews and other information, is there any other web site which offers these stuff in quality?

Also visit my site http://www.161999up.com: http://www.161999up.com
0 #1 http://www.161990up. 2014-09-26 21:13
I every time used to study paragraph in news papers but now as I
am a user of web so from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.

my web blog ... http://www.161990up.com: http://www.161990up.com

Add comment

Security code